Finally- A Good Night’s Sleep!

rlca0100a_TheLastRosePearl_GraceWalton

I spent a very large portion of my writing day yesterday spinning my wheels over The Last Rose Pearl. I’m kind of obsessive sometimes with getting a character just right. And yesterday was one of those days.

The marketing folks have been asking for sides [that’s a portion of a manuscript or screenplay]. I haven’t wanted to release any because Rory Windsor [the heroine of TLRP] still needed some work.

I like her a lot, but she wasn’t showing who she really was in the manuscript. Until yesterday.

There’s a saying in the publishing world. It’s hard to hear, but it really explains what an editor means. It goes like this, ‘Sometimes you just have to kill your babies‘.

That awful phrase means you need to delete a bunch of your work, maybe even some of the parts you love the most. You must lose them to make the story tighter. Most times when I have to do this, characters come alive and take unexpected but intriguing turns.

So yesterday after sitting in the office chair listening to a nice CD of piano classics, smelling a wonderful basil- cilantro- lime candle burning, and staring at the same page on my monitor for two hours I knew I had to ‘kill my babies’.

I deleted a goodly portion of the first three chapters. Suddenly Rory took on a life of her own. The next thing I knew she was telling her best friend that she’d never get married, ever. Even though, unbeknownst to her, she was already married by proxy to the biggest womanizer in Regency London.

Needless to say, I finished the day sending off a respectable amount of sides to Marketing. And I was able to sleep well last night. Finally Rory Windsor had come into her own.

Now for a short shameless plug- Birdie Saves The World is on sale this week for $1.99. It is a contemporary novel set in modern Savannah. It’s one of my Low Country Love Stories. Hope you’ll snag it and read all about Birdie’s quirky friends, shallow greedy family, and her tumultuous love story with a wrong-side-of-the-tracks billionaire.

LNF, Grace

Leave a Reply

