The Last Rose Pearl Published Today!

rlca0100a_TheLastRosePearl_GraceWalton

The journey to publishing TLRP has been a long and convoluted one. It began over 18 years ago when my kids were exploring their independence. They surely didn’t need me to micro-manage them. Or solve their problems. God has blessed them and me so much over the years. Both of my children love the Lord, are settled in marriage with Christian spouses, and are pursuing their passions. It doesn’t get much better than that.

But all that independence left me with time on my hands- at least during the summers 🙂 . I was a public school teacher, summers were my vacation time. So 18 years ago in June I set out to write my homage to Georgette Heyer [the great author of classic Regency Romance].

That summer I got a rough draft done. A very rough draft. An extremely messy manuscript, which I promptly starting shopping around to editors. *sigh* I was, as we say in the education field, unconsciously unaware. In layman’s terms that means, I didn’t know what I didn’t know.

Surprisingly, editors were very kind to me. I got full manuscript requests. And I got some really good suggestions for revisions. So the next summer, I got out that ratty manuscript and rewrote it.

Since then I’ve rewritten the darn thing several times. Once it sat in the bottom of a picnic basket in my office for three years untouched. The characters’ names, conflicts, and backstories have changed numerous times. Once the whole plot of the book was trashed and rewritten.

Other projects came and went, but TLRP had staying power. So finally when I was asked at the beginning of this year if I had anything that could be polished for a late summer publication. I replied I did indeed have an old manuscript I’d been itching to revise one more time.

So now TLRP is published after so many years of languishing away. It is a tighter book than it was. It is a more balanced book. And it has better character development than it had 18 years ago. I hope you like it.

But most of all, I hope and pray God uses it to minister to folks. My books are all about how God takes the train wrecks we make of our lives and transforms them into something beautiful and worthy. If you read TLRP, I hope and pray you see that it follows that pattern, as well.

LNF, Grace

Leave a Reply

