New Medieval in the Works!

My Private Reading Nook

My Private Reading Nook

I’ve been hard at work this week starting the latest installation in the ChristKeepers series. If you’ve read the first two books, you know that in the last book ‘Faith’s Keys’ there was a cliffhanger ending featuring one of the characters Rafael. OK, to be totally honest, I’ve been itching to write Rafe’s story for a while now. He’s tall, dark, and handsome. But he’s also smart, cynical, & damaged. You know me and damaged heroes 🙂 .

Anyhoo, this book has started off with a real bang. Magpie, Titus’s squire from my 1st Medieval ‘Mercy’s Heart’, is trying her best to get Rafe out of the Tower of London. But she’s caught in the attempt to free him. And there’s an awful price she must pay to get him released. Thus the angst, drama, love, and redemption begin!

I’ve seen the central image the cover artist is using for this book. And I think it’s spectacular. Covers have to be created in the earliest parts of the publishing project. They are important to marketing. And they are often used to make book trailers, and other items, like book marks etc. I like to see the covers early too. They are very inspiring to me as I’m finishing a project.

So that’s what’s going on in my writing world. On the homemaking front, I’ve got a rag quilt cut out and ready to sew. I wrote a while back about the reading nook my husband gave me for my birthday. It’s where I read the Bible, journal, and keep up with my gratitude book. I’m recording all the things I’m grateful for this year. I’m up to number 803 and I only started in January! But the reason I’m making the rag quilt is that I need a throw to keep warm. I also use my nook as a private prayer closet. I do my deep breathing prayers there as well as my prayer list prayers. Since it’s by a wall of windows looking out on the bay, it can get pretty chilly in the winter. I spend a lot of time in the nook, so I really need to get cracking on that quilt!

Hubby and I are so blessed. He works from home, and so do I. We live in our dream location. And we’re  able to live the life of voluntary simplicity and frugality we feel called to live.

It has been quite a challenge downsizing and being content in all circumstances this past year. Nobody enjoys a major relocation across country with a broken wrist, recent surgical procedures, and an elderly parent. And I’m learning to share a really, really tiny closet with my husband 🙂 . But God has been faithful, as He always is. Life is sweet.

Wherever you are, I hope you’re warm. I hope you’re surrounded by peace and the sweetness of ordinary life. And I truly hope you’re able to count your blessings- maybe all the way up to 803!

LNF, Grace

Leave a Reply

