G-Mama’s Easter Loaf

Don’t you love these old vintage ads?

OK, I’m confessing right up front about this recipe. It is not one I came up with. It is an old stand by over at Weight Watcher’s that I happened upon. It is super-duper easy, your kids can make it with just a little oversight from you. It’s a stir it all up in one bowl and dump it in a loaf pan bread. And my 85 yr old mom [G-Mama to us] adores it!!!

So every holiday I make her an appropriate themed loaf of this sweet bread. Right now her Easter Loaf is baking and my whole house smells divine! Even my wonderful hubby, who works from home as do I, started sniffing and asked me what I was doing in the kitchen. He’s a carnivore, but he did look a wee bit crestfallen when I told him it was destined for my sweet Mama.

So here’s the fool proof recipe.

Ingredients:

1 box cake mix- your choice – today I used a colorful confetti

1 can pumpkin- just the regular sized can, not the big hefty one

1 cup water

Add-ins of your choice: chocolate chips, raisins, nuts, coconut, chopped dates, you get the idea, there are no wrong add-ins. Today I’m using nuts, raisins, & chocolate chips. Just a handful each.

Stir this all together. Be liberal with your add-ins.  Dump into a large loaf pan that you’ve pammed. Bake at 350 for 45 to 60 minutes. I check mine at 45 min. and if it’s still gooey looking on top I let it go the whole 60 min.

Take it from the oven and let it cool. After cooling get it out of the pan and decorate the top. Today, the Easter Loaf will have a thick topping of powered sugar and vanilla glaze. About 1 cup of the sugar and a couple of tablespoons of milk with a drop or two of vanilla. I want it kind of stiff. Then I will sprinkle a few pretty M&Ms on top. I was going to use coconut, but I’m out of it and too lazy to go to the store. 🙂

Tomorrow when I go see Mom at the senior village, I’ll take her this treat. We are hosting her at an Easter lunch this weekend, but I know she’ll enjoy this Easter Loaf in the meantime.

Happy Easter! He Is Risen!

LNF, Grace

2 thoughts on “G-Mama’s Easter Loaf

    1. Living By Grace Post author

      Hi Delainie! It’s so nice to hear from you. Sure hope you and yours are well and happy. Thanks a bunch for stopping by. LNF, Grace

      Reply

Leave a Reply

