Thieves Oil in Magpie’s Masque

Thanks to Farm & Family for the Image!

Thanks to Farm & Family for the Image!

I’m a big believer in the use of Thieves Oil. My husband’s aunt got me started on it years ago and now I can’t live without the highly scented stuff. Every time I sit down at my desk to write, I rub a dab of it between my hands.

Instantly the room is heady with the smell of spices. This is a great aid to my writing, especially my historical writing.

And because I love this stuff so much, I have included it in my newest Medieval novel, Magpie’s Masque. It is only featured briefly, in a scene about The King’s Evil – known today by the name Scrofula. Let me hasten to add that Thieves Oil is not a remedy for this horrible disease. But I use it as a plot device during the culmination of the novel.

I get my Thieves Oil on eBay. I had a recipe for it at one time, but have no idea what happened to it in our recent move. I believe my use of this oil makes me more inclined to not get colds and the flu. I very rarely get either, even when members of the family suffer with them.

When you read Magpie’s Masque, look for the mention of Thieves Oil and how it is used in a blackmail plot.

Oh, before I go today, I got a call from my marketing lady last night. She says the Magpie’s Masque book trailer is up on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, & at my website- http://www.gracewalton.com

Hope you’ll go by and check it out!  LNF, Grace

Leave a Reply

